How To Join

Portadown Credit Union has in excess of 14,000 members made up of people living or working within our community.

Our aim at Portadown Credit Union is to regularly improve on our range of services and procedures to give our members the best service possible.

Common Bond

All Credit Unions have a common bond – something which unites its members. Here at Portadown Credit Union our common bond is that our members must live or work in the Portadown area. Our common bond consists of the immediate Portadown area and the following town lands:




Ballynagarrick, Ballydugan, Ballylough, Ballygargan, Ballymacanallen, Bleary, Ballytyrone and Ballyleny


Cranagill, Creenagh, Coragh, Clonmacash, Clare, Coose, Cornascreeb and Crewcatt


Derrylileagh, Derrycrew, Derrycaw, Drumaran, Drumhorc, Durmmiller, Derryhale, Drumnascamph, Derrymacfall, Derryall- Muckery, Derrinraw, Derrylard, Derryaugh and Derryburghas






Kilmacanty, Knock, Knocknamuckl, Kernan, Knocknagore and Kilmore


Lisnamintry, Lylo, Lisnisky, Levalleglish, Loughgall, Lisavague, Lenaderg, Lisnafiffy and Loughans


Money, Mullaletragh, Mulladry, Mullavilly, Moyallan and Mullabrack




Tamnafiglassan, Tamnaficarbet, Teagy, Tullylish and Tullyrain



Contact us on 028 3833 5104 to find out if you live within an area that is eligible to join.

Membership Requirements

When you become a member at Portadown Credit Union, we will require some documentation to confirm who you are. There are two key things we need: 

1- Photographic Identification

One of the following:

  • Current passport
  • Current photocard driving licence/provision licence*
  • Electoral identity card
  • Firearms certificate (including photograph)
  • National identity card (Non EU Nationals)
  • Smart pass

2- Address Verification

One of the following:

  • Current utility bill (within 3 months)
  • Current bank statement (within 3 months)
  • Government issued documentation relating to tax or benefits (within 3 months)

* Please note that the same form of identification cannot be used to confirm both your identity and your address.

Join Online Now

Membership Fees

All adult members must pay a £1 affiliation fee annually and hold £5 savings in their account at all times. Once a new account has been created, a deposit of at least £6 must be made within 2 days, this can be done in the following ways:

  • Over the phone- You can make debit card payments over the phone by calling the Portadown office on (028) 38335104
  • In person at Portadown Credit Union- 26 Market Street, Portadown

Deposits can be made by cash, cheque or debit payment

Minor Accounts

If you are a parent/guardian, you can open a minor saving account for the child, if they’re under the age of 16.

In order to open this account, you will need:

  1. Child’s birth certificate
  2. Photographic ID of the individual opening the account
  3. Proof of address (acceptable verification is stated above)

Minor accounts mature into adult accounts when the child reaches the age of 16. At this time, the 16 year old will have sole access to the account and the money held in it.